The Price of Wine

October 6, 2010 § 5 Comments

I don’t get it, but it’s not uncommon for me to meet someone turned off to the idea of drinking a bottle of wine over a six pack or cocktail. Wine is great, and you don’t have to be rich or knowledgeable about varietals to enjoy it.

So how much should I spend?

This depends on a few things …

Do you prefer the taste of fruit or dirt? If you answered fruit, then you are probably used to drinking younger wine, most likely produced in the U.S., and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that.

Do you purchase based on how flashy the label is, or by the region?

What I am getting to is that a lot of people don’t like expensive wine, and are disappointed after spending money on one because they are not used to the flavors. American wines tend to be more fruit heavy, while European wines are going to weigh more heavily on the dirt side …

A great book for beginning wine drinkers and sommeliers alike is Robin Goldstein’s “The Wine Trials.” The book gives a good intro into the world of wine, and a bit of insight into the effect that labels, marketing and price have on a drinkers perception of taste and appreciation. The book then reviews 100 wines under $15 that were used in blind tastings — tasting against many of the most expensive wines on the market.

Spoiler: The inexpensive wines didn’t to half bad in the tastings.

So, I challenge you to not spend over $10 on your next bottle of wine, and see what you think. Go ahead and let me know what you chose and what you thought of it!

In the next few posts I will be sharing a few of my favorite varietals and hopefully will prove that opting for wine instead of something else isn’t a pricey switch. Until then, why not visit Robin Goldstein’s blog!

§ 5 Responses to The Price of Wine

  • Stewart says:

    And don’t forget that there are small, local, independent wineries all over the country! Many of them better priced than your run-of-the-mill box wines! Buy local, buy with pride, and keep your local farmers in business!

    • solamenteted says:

      Stewart … I totally agree! I try to make sure that the majority of what I consume is local/organic, and visiting local wineries never gets old. I am planning on doing a post on local wines in NM, and possibly on local wines in MN (I used to live there). If you know of any wines I should try that can ship to NM let me know, and thanks for the comment!

  • I agree about the fruitiness of younger American wines…but dirt?

    The only liquor I’ve had that really tasted of dirt was a Chinese liqueur; it tasted like the smell you get when you spade up some rich loam.

  • solamenteted says:

    Haha. Dirt is commonly associated with wine, which often leads to terrible jokes about drinking dirt …
    The dirt association stems from the term “terroir,” or “land.” European wine is known for tasting like the land of the region it is from. Notes of dirt or bark in your wine may not be a bad thing … but don’t add any organic matter in hopes of producing the same effect!

  • Amanda says:

    I can not tell you how overjoyed I am that you wrote this. I just recently started to drink wine and know nothing about it. I just have been trying out what sounds good. Plus, I am a huge fan of the cheap so, your blog has been a big help. Thank you for the book recommendation.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Price of Wine at Embrace the Spirit.

meta

